WIZFILMS Annual Short Film Festival (WASFF) 2017

WizFilms Annual Short Film Festival is initiated by Wiztoonz Academy of Media and Design in association with Sideways6 in effort to discover visionary filmmakers of the future. The festival provides the perfect opportunity for people who are passionate about film making to present their mastery of the medium. The juried competition is open to any work made outside the major worldwide film studio system, and provides cash awards to the festival’s top films.

Designed to showcase student and independent filmmakers, the competition is open to anyone, with an entry fee of INR 1000 per film. Current students of Wiztoonz Academy of Media and Design will get a 50% discount on the fee. Five Official Jury Selection films are chosen from the entries and then screened publicly at the Ceremony Event Day. Winners will be announced in the event by prominent figures from the Film Industry.

WASFF 2017 Winners

Best Film

Without Cheese

Director: Vivek Krishnan

“Well shot, Well edited, Competent Direction”

“Very Quirky and keeps you guessing what the film is all about. Good Direction and Editing. Loved the payoff in the end.”

“A well made film and excellent effort which is a strong contender. I look forward to seeing what the film maker works in in the years to come.”

Best Director

Krishnendu Kalesh

Movie: Karinchaathan – Bete Noire

“Excellent Visualization, Great Understanding of Cinema, Form and Substance”

“A treat to watch. Direction gets a full score with good cinematography, sound design and acting control”

Best Writing

Karinchaathan – Bete Noire

“Great controlling idea. Very intriguing and refreshing story”

“Nicely Blended Satire. Loved the dialogues”

Best Performance

In A Leading Role

Rajesh Nanoo

Movie: Yashpal

“Brilliant job as the naive protagonist”

Special Jury Mention

The Bloop Troop

“Very well executed. Good understanding of Animation, though for the herculean effort in great animation, the effort deserved a better story”

“Beautiful Animation. Lovely colours”

“A Winner for animation, Story needs to be better”

WASFF 2017 Jury

Sangeeth Sivan

Sangeeth Sivan

Filmmaker, Producer

Sangeeth Sivan is an Indian film director and screenwriter who works in Malayalam and Hindi film industries. He is probably best known for directing the 1992 Malayalam film Yodha. His notable films include Yamla Pagla Deewana 2 starring the Deol Family, Kya Kool Hai Hum, Nirnayam and Vyooham. His brother Santhosh Sivan is also a famed name in the indian film industry.

P. Sheshadri

P. Sheshadri


P. Sheshadri is an Indian film director who works in Kannada cinema. He is known for his films Munnudi, Atithi, Beru, Tutturi, Vimukthi, Bettada Jeeva, Bharath Stores and December-1 all of which won the National Film Awards.

Kireet Khurana

Kireet Khurana


Kireet Khurana is an Indian filmmaker, storyteller, and ad-film director. Kireet has won more than 30 awards, including five prestigious President’s National Awards for his short film. He is the director of India’s first film combining live-action and 3D animation called Toonpur Ka Super Hero, starring Ajay Devgan and Kajol.

Dr. N.S. Ashok Kumar

Dr. N.S. Ashok Kumar

Professor in Electronic Media

Dr. N.S. Ashok Kumar, Professor, Department of Studies in Electronic Media, Bangalore University, has a Ph.D. in Television Studies. He was awarded FulBright Fellowship from Boston University, USA. He was the first person to be awarded FulBright Fellowship in the field of Communication from Karnataka.His area of specialization is in Television Production and Radio Broadcasting.

Sudeep Bhattacharya

Sudeep Bhattacharya

Photographer, Filmmaker

Sudeep Bhattacharya is an Indian Photographer and Filmmaker. Sudeep’s portfolio has earned him recognition as the most sought after wedding photographers in India, with features in publications including Vogue India, Conde Nast Traveller and Destination Wedding guide. He associated with Facebook, Bajaj, Wrangler, Westside, Taxi for Sure and other national and international brands on digital advertising.

Sapan Narula

Sapan Narula


Sapan Narula is an Indian cinematographer who is famous for his works in films like Not a Love Story, Department, Dongala Mutha. Having shot numerous TV commercials and Promos, Sapan now finished directing his feature film debut, ‘Mi’Raj’ to be released in 2017.

WizFilms.. . . . Annual Short Film Festival 2017 - bg