About UOM

The University of Mysore was established on July 27, 1916. It is the sixth oldest in the country and the first in Karnataka State. Also, in a sense, it is the first University in the country to be established outside the limits of British India. The University was founded as a result of the efforts of the benevolent and visionary Maharaja of erstwhile Princely State of Mysore, His Highness Shri Nalvadi Krishnaraja Wadiyar – IV (1884-1940), and the then Diwan Sir M. Visvesvaraya (1860-1962). It was the first University to be accredited by NAAC in 2000 with Five Star Status

Major Milestones

  • NIRF Ranking 2021 by MHRD, Govt. of India: The University of Mysore got 19th position in India. 1st in Karnataka, and 34th position as per overall assessment criteria
  • The University of Mysore was the first University in the State that was accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) in the year 2000 with Five Star Status.
  • Recognized by Govt. of India as an “Institution of Excellence (IOE).”
  • Identified by the Government of Karnataka (2009) as Innovation University.